Page 1 of 1

New forums

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:47 am
by Dazbobaby
Dave setup the forum on an old unused dedicated server he found lurking around on various closed accounts. It was in a data centre somewhere, no one was using it, and no one was paying for it, it had been left on for over 12 months, so why the hell not put it to good use.
So Dave got things setup, I tweaked all the forums and settings while Dave did the erm.. back end stuff.

Then yesterday morning it disappeared, no response, the IP just died.

It seems that either the data centre noticed the increased traffic and shut it down, or they were in the process of an audit and shut it down... either way, it's gone.

That said I do have a spare High end PC. I'd just upgraded my old Intel 6600k with a new AMD 2700x, New motherboard and RAM. I also have a shed load of spare SSD's. 1x60GB 2x120GB 1x240GB and a 500GB, all used for various deleted projects in the past and were no longer in use.
So we now have a VERY good server with a lot of RAM (16GB), plenty of VERY fast storage, and one hell of a processor, sure it's only a quad core and not a ridiculous 32core Xeon, but it runs at double the speed @3.9GHZ, it's also water cooled with a 280mm radiator.

Dave and I set to work again yesterday and here the forum is again...

Re: New forums

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:28 pm
by theENIGMATRON
Still no response from the server I was using... decently must of been taken down.
May of gone unnoticed from the no traffic, and since a flood of traffic, it was inspected and noticed it wasn't support to be online.
Oh well, Thought it was too good to be true

94.136.36.29 of the old server.

Re: New forums

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:32 pm
by Dazbobaby
Now it's on the 500GB SSD and this machine, it's like lightning.
Even though I'm sending data out, only for it to come back, I am uploading to it at a full 2MB/s, though if I could access it locally I'm sure I could get uploads running at 140MB/s. It's still impressive.